Back to blogs

My first blog post!

To be honest, I've never tried doing this sort of thing before. I'd always thought that writing out my thoughts and ideas was a waste of time (before I stumbled upon neocities anyways), but there seems to be a great amount of potential in doing so.

Before I started this "blogging" thing, I defined a few goals and rules for myself when writing the posts themselves:

With that said, I have a few things to write about:

horrible sleep schedule

I've been waking up at 4-5 in the morning consistently lately (before this my usual wake-up time was 7 am). Usually this wouldn't happen, so I thought to revisit my night-time routine:

..Suffice to say, nothing could've possibly gone south, except for...

"Electronic back-lit devices like cell phones, tablets, readers, and computers emit short-wavelength enriched light, also known as blue light, which has been shown to reduce or delay the natural production of melatonin in the evening and decrease feelings of sleepiness. Blue light can also reduce the amount of time you spend in slow-wave and rapid-eye movement (REM) sleep, two stages of the sleep cycle that are vital for cognitive functioning."

- sleepfoundation.org

I'd forgotten that doomscrolling pinterest 10 minutes before going to bed was NOT helping me to sleep at all (what a shocker)!

I am now trying my best to break the unconscious habit of grabbing my phone every time I'm about to sleep, but it hasn't been that long since so I'll just have to wait to see some results.

Moral of the story? no phone before bed.

new mouse, new beginnings

I just bought the Logitech ERGO M575 a few days ago (after selling the rusty ol' basilisk ultimate). It's different from an ordinary mouse in that it uses a trackball to navigate. I made this purchase because 1) Risk of RSI, and 2) Basically every linux youtuber uses one of these. And I'm happy to report that the experience so far has been fantastic! Many people report trackball mice being uncomfortable or outright impossible to use, but I integrated this bad boy into my tech stack seemlessly after only a few hours of use (minus the time I spent changing the dpi via xinput). I'll have to work with it for a little more to get the most out of it and make a full-fledged review, though.